top of page

A Fresh New Look

I've been trying to find time to help my parents with a fresh new bedroom update (let's be real..my MOM wants the new update :). They have quite a few things already, but just need a little boost in putting it all together. So this post is all about what I had in mind for them! My mom gave me a budget of $500...I promise it is possible! I did go over by about $30, but I used the full price of every item and a lot of them were on sale/are usually on sale. To save on money, you can also use these BluPrints to find similar items at places that don't have an online presence (i.e. places like Home Goods [my favvvvv], garage sales, antique stores, etc.)

I knew my mom wanted something fun and different. A lot of the rooms in her house have a similar style - very simple and practical, and not a lot of bold colors or accessories. That's totally fine too! I feel like a lot of people can relate to wanting your house to feel like an actual home and not a walk through home decor show that you don't feel like you could ACTUALLY live in (although don't get me wrong I love fun accessories and decor when I can get it!)

So to make this room really stand out I presented her with the more popular idea that people are doing these days of installing a wood plank wall. It's a lot more simply said than done! They have products that are peel and stick wood planks which is really awesome and installs really cleanly, but is on the more expensive side (i.e. a single 8'x10' wall would be about $800....no thanks!) So the cheapest way to go is to create it yourself. The following link shows a great DIY by The Stony Brook House that shows you how to get the look you want and how to do it pretty easily:

Here's the BluPrint:

Their bedroom is pretty small (about 12'x14') so the right side of the board would be on the opposite wall of the bed. There's a closet that fills the wall to the right of the bed, and a bathroom to the left of the bed so this is pretty much all you would need to add (possibly a wall accessory of some kind on the same side as the bathroom, but it isn't necessary to include here since my parents are most likely to use something they already own).

I tried to keep everything as simple as possible to still make it feel like it's part of the house and to stick to what makes them comfortable; for example, they prefer quilts rather than comforters and are not fans of big bold colors/dark colors.

Here is the corresponding shopping BluPrint:

It's smaller than usual because of the fact that my parents own a lot of the items already, but again, there isn't really a lot of items needed for the space to begin with.

Let me know what you think or if you have questions about anything! I'd love to be interactive and know what you would like to see from The BluPrinter!

-KV

bottom of page